Call for Nominations for the British Psychological Society Cognitive Psychology Section Award 2017

The BPS Cognitive Psychology Section Award recognises outstanding published contributions to research in the area of Cognitive Psychology. Eligible publications are limited to scientific journal papers reporting novel observations and providing significant theoretical insight into human cognition. The Award Panel will give greater consideration to studies with broad appeal and widespread implications, particularly studies that address longstanding problems and that advance conceptual understanding in unexpected or counterintuitive ways.

Nominated publications for the 2017 award should have a publication date of 2015 or 2016, the majority of the work should have been conducted in the UK and at least one of the authors of the paper should currently be based in the UK, but they need not be a member of the BPS. It is customary for a UK-based winner of the award to present a keynote address at the Annual Cognitive Section Conference, which in 2017 will be organised and hosted by Newcastle University and will take place 30th August – 1st September.

All eligible, nominated publications will be considered by the Award Panel, comprising a subgroup of the Cognitive Psychology Section Committee in consultation with expert assessors, if necessary. An electronic copy of the relevant publication should be submitted, along with a supporting statement of not more than 500 words from a nominator (which might be one of the authors). It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that the authors consent to their work being considered for the award and that the authors are available to present the keynote address at the conference.

Nominations for the award should be sent to:

Dr Lauren Knott at lauren.knott.1@city.ac.uk

The closing date for nominations is **1st April 2017.**

Previous winners include:

- 2004 Cecilia Heyes
- 2005 Annette Kinder & David Shanks
- 2006 Nillie Lavie, Aleksandra Hirst, Jan de Fockert & Essi Viding
- 2007 Andrew Calder & Andrew Young
- 2008 Philip Quinlan, Han van der Maas, Brenda Jansen, Olaf Booij & Mark Rendell
- 2009 Gordon Brown, Ian Neath & Nick Chater
- 2010 Marc Buehner & Gruffydd Humphreys
- 2011 Ulrike Hahn & Paul Warren
- 2012 Eirini Mavritsaki, Dietmar Heinke, Harriet Allen, Gustavo Deco & Glyn Humphreys
- 2013 Padraic Monaghan, Morten Christiansen & Stanka Fitneva
- 2014 Richard Harris, Andrew Young, Tim Andrews
- 2015 Kenny Coventry, Debra Griffiths & Colin Hamilton
- 2016 Tom Ormerod & Coral Dando

Enquiries to the Secretary of the Cognitive Section, Lauren Knott (lauren.knott.1@city.ac.uk)